100 Pesos Pressed Powders

As we all know Face Powders has been a staple product for girls and women out there. This is one basic makeup tool we have right? What is face powder? What is the difference between a foundation versus face powder? What face powder/s do you use?

Face powder is a cosmeticpowder applied to the face to set a foundation after application. It can also be reapplied throughout the day to minimize shininess caused by oily skin. There is translucent sheer powder, and there ispigmented powder. Certain types of pigmented facial powders are meant be worn alone with no base foundation. Powder tones the face and gives an even appearance. Besides toning the face, some powders with sunscreen can also reduce skin damage from sunlight and environmental stress. It comes packaged either as a compact or as loose powder. It can be applied with a sponge, brush, or powder puff. Uniform distribution over the face is achieved more easily when a loose powder is applied. Because of the wide variation among human skin tones, there is a corresponding variety of colors of face powder. There are also several types of powder. A common powder used in beauty products is talc (or baby powder), which is absorbent and provides toning to the skin. (Source: Wikipedia)

Difference Between Pressed Powder & Foundation

Composition

  • The biggest difference between pressed powder and foundation is that pressed powder is a solid and foundation is a liquid. Granted, you may find cream foundations that resemble pressed powder, but the product is still wet to the touch. Pressed powder is entirely dry. Because of the difference in composition, you generally apply pressed powder with a makeup puff or a brush. You can apply foundation with a brush, makeup sponge or your fingers.

    Advantages and Disadvantages

  • An advantage of using pressed powder is that it is extremely portable and therefore practical for quick touch-ups on the go. A disadvantage is that pressed powder dries your skin and can give your makeup a caked-on feel. Advantages of using foundation include fuller coverage, easier blending and a more natural look. Disadvantages include the time foundation takes to apply, finding the right shade and lack of portability.   (Source: http://www.ehow.com/info_12093131_difference-between-pressed-powder-foundation.html)

I have used several face powders but I’ll be more concentrating or reviewing the ones I’ve recently used . Prior to these products that I’ll be featuring my holy grail for face powders few years back is Myra- E Face Powder. There are only 2 shades which is Light and Natural, It is priced as far as I know 129 -140Php. Then I switched to Maybelline Pressed Powder which is priced at 199Php. I find both powders wonderful but as time goes by, budget has been an issue especially for a thrifty person like me. While other girls or women out there can allot a big budget on makeup not me. I go for ones who are cheap but can at least satisfy me in  way. I don’t really put heavy make up since I don’t find it necessary. I work at night so light makeup would do. Let me briefly review those 3 Face Powders I’ve used so far. Nichido Pressed Powder 

Nichido Pressed Powder

Nichido Pressed Powder Shade: Gorgeous Salmon Price: 100Php Bought at Watsons.

  • Packaging: Good (I like the look of the compact, it doesn’t look cheap. Not made of plastic)
  • Coverage: Light to Medium
  • Shades: Soft Bisque, Natural, Gorgeous Salmon, Tan,
  • Oil Absorption: 3/5 (After few hours I can feel my face is oiling up. I’m not sure if it is my San San Foundation or not.)
  • Texture: Silky
  • Others: Has SPF content. No parabens. I have accidentally drop this compact but to my surprise it didn’t break.  (always happened to me whenever I have face powders. Ended up having loose powders. If you know what I mean;) ) The puff itself tends to loosen up. Very cheap for 100 Php only.  Hypoallergenic (didn’t broke me out).
  • Availability: Can only be bought at Watson and selected Department Stores like SM.

Ever Bilena Pressed Powder

Ever Bilena Pressed Powder

Ever Bilena Pressed Powder Shade: Honey Price: 100Php Bought at Watsons.

  • Packaging: Dislike (It is made of plastic. I have accidentally dropped this and the powder or compact broke. I have no choice but to throw it. I tried putting alcohol to the loose powder to no avail)
  • Coverage: Light to Medium
  • Shades: Honey, Tan, Blushing Pink, White. Natural
  • Oil Absorption: 3/5 (My first use was good since it tends to absorb a bit oiliness on my face.)
  • Texture: Silky
  • Others: As far as I know there is no SPF content on this. Hypoallergenic (didn’t broke me out). Very cheap for 100 Php only.
  • Availability: Available at drugstores like Mercury, Watsons, All department stores.

Nichido Pressed Powder

Nichido Pressed Powder

Nichido Pressed Powder Shade: Light Vanilla. Price: 100 Php Bought at Watsons

  • Packaging: Made of plastic. Very handy.
  • Coverage: Light to Medium
  • Shades: Light Vanilla, Soft Bisque and Natural(or Tan? not sure)
  • Oil Absorption: 4\5
  • Texture: Silky
  • Others: No SPF content. Has parabens 😦 . This face powder is different from the first two since it has a thin latex sponge instead of the normal puff. But in the long run as expected the sponge tends to crumble into pieces. Same problem I had with my Myra-E face powder. Very cheap for 100 Php only.  Hypoallergenic (didn’t broke me out).
  • Availability: Can only be bought at Watson and selected Department Stores like SM.
  • I had bought my 2nd powder already since I think this powder works for me because of the sponge. For me, the powder it spread easily using a latex sponge rather than a puff. But the sponge might get crumbly in the long run.

By the way,in relation to 100 pesos face powders you can also check Avon’s Simply Pretty Face Powders. I have used it before. Most of their Simply Pretty Powders are at a price of 99 to 100Php if it is discounted. I hope this blog helps you in deciding which face powders to use. Or you can share to me other face powders not mentioned here.  🙂

4 thoughts on “100 Pesos Pressed Powders

Leave a Reply

